In how many sections the spinal cord is divided into?

  • 31 sections
  • 12 sections
  • 5 sections
  • 3 sections

✨ Free AI Tools for You

Powered by Chatterbot AI


Correct Option: C - 5 sections

The vertebrae are systematically divided and named according to their position along the spine. The spinal cord is divided into the following 5 sections:

  1. Cervical Vertebrae (C1-C7):

    • Located in the neck
    • Contains 7 vertebrae
  2. Thoracic Vertebrae (T1-T12):

    • Situated in the upper back
    • Contains 12 vertebrae
    • Attached to the ribcage
  3. Lumbar Vertebrae (L1-L5):

    • Found in the lower back
    • Contains 5 vertebrae
  4. Sacral Vertebrae (S1-S5):

    • Positioned in the hip area
    • Contains 5 vertebrae that are typically fused to form the sacrum
  5. Coccygeal Vertebrae (C1-C4):

    • Located at the tail-bone
    • Consists of 4 vertebrae that are usually fused to form the coccyx

Was this helpful?

India's 1st AI Doubt Solver for CBSE, JEE, and NEET

Ask a Question for Free

and then it's just ₹212 a month